3D TV and Vision Problems

Statistics tell me that in the next two years, the number of US households that will upgrade to 3D TV’s is a huge number.   Unlike the 3D at the movies, TV uses glasses that can create some subtle vision problems for many people.  TV’s use “active shutter” glasses to create the 3D effect for users, this gives each eye a different image, which can cause the eyes to lose alignment and to some degree “wander” if the watcher is prone to this (a condition referred to as a “phoria”).

I am actively investigating methods to provide custom prescriptions for my patients who exhibit these problems, as well as talking to major players in the vision correction industry about ways to minimize the visual issues and maximize the enjoyment of the 3D Experience for my patients.

 

Stay tuned for more information!

 

Dr. Warren

www.warreneyecarecenter.com

Request An Appointment

 

2 thoughts on “3D TV and Vision Problems

  1. Dear sir,
    My IOP is 12/14
    vision field is normal
    and my eye sight is normal
    But doctors say I have glaucoma.
    Is it possible me to have glaucoma?
    Earlier my IOP was 16/16. But with eye drops it is reduced now.
    Do I really have glaucoma?
    Thanks
    ARuna

    • Aruna,
      There are so many factors that go into a diagnosis of Glaucoma that it is impossible to give clinical opinions via a blog. I do have many patients who have glaucoma without significantly elevated IOP’s however.

      I would suggest that you discuss and review things such as your visual fields and optic nerve metrics with your eye doctor again. It’s incredibly important for you and your doctor to be on the same page, Glaucoma is a life long disease.

      Dr. Warren

Leave a Reply

