Now What? Regarding Health Care

With the win by Mr. Brown in Massachusetts today will there be more thought and due process put into the health care reform process? I sure hope so. Our current system needs to be changed, without a doubt.
My family and I feel the effects of the current health care system every month when I make our over $700 premium payment for a plan with a $5,ooo deductible and no pharmacy coverage. I also feel it when my staff processes insurance explanation of benefits (referred to as an EOB) and the payment from the insurance company is at or below the level that I received five or more years ago.

So I’m paying more for my premium (over twice what I was paying five to seven years ago) and the insurance companies are paying less for the care that I provide. It seems that the money is being lost in the middle. Is it any coincidence that insurance colmpanies have spent so much money fighting health care reform?

All sides will probably have to accept change in order to reform the US health care system. The plan brought forward by the Obama administration isn’t a workable solution. If doctors are already refusing to see Medicare patients (One of the Mayo Clinics in the Phoenix area already has), just imaging what will happen if the 21% cut in Medicare payments goes through, as part of health care reform or on its own.

Its sure a mess…..

JW

Leave a Reply

