News And Information – How Do You Get Yours?

I’ve been consuming more and more news and information from non-traditional sources.  I now find that my morning “information search/retrieval” is more centered around my iPhone/Computer than ever before.  I do the following each morning:

  • Read my emails, which catches me up with friends, family and colleagues and generates lots of information which I may follow up on via links in emails
  • Cruise through my FaceBook account to see what friends have been up to/are up to
  • Read Twitter (I have two accounts, one personal and one for my practice), this gets me a ton of information and links to stories of interest.  It takes awhile to get a decent list of people on Twitter that you follow, but once you do, you hear about many things quickly
  • Check out the AP News app on my iPhone which is set to grab any local stories of interest
  • Review USA Today on my iPhone which I use for national news and other stories, they have some very good “off the beaten path” pieces in many of their sections
  • Read the “Racine Post” which is a local online news source

Its only after the above activities, which usually only takes me 5-10 minutes, that I turn on the radio and listen to either FM drive time for entertainment or AM talk radio/news.  I don’t read any newspapers on a regular basis.  I simply don’t need to.  I will visit the Journaltimes.com occasionally, usually when pointed that way via Twitter, and occasionally will read jsonline.com.  With more and more of the traditional print media serving up their information via the internet (either on a computer or even better a phone), its simply much easier, more efficient and free to gather the information that way.

For professional information/education, I listen to several different podcasts (usually when traveling and sitting on airplanes or in airport terminals).  The amount of information that is available via iTunes is incredible.  iTunes U allows you to listen and many times even watch courses that you may find of interest.

So, how do you get your information?……..

JW

Leave a Reply

